Yer Country Love Song

So I slung on my guitar
To sing ya a song
Words were truthful
The feelings quite strong
About missing and kissing
Of tears mixed with fears
Trucks and ponies and porch dogs and slamming gears

See I wrote ya a country love song
Simple and true
Ending with the truth
That I love put near only you

Fear of my God
And USA for ever
I can’t quit ya
No not ever, not never
I’ll adopt your sweet kid
Treat ‘er like my own
Maybe our kids’ll respect us
Once they’ve upped and grown

It’ll be in your country song
So sweet and so strong
A lot just like you
To love a whole life long

Come soon then the gray hairs
Then no hairs and the dyin’
But I’ll always respect you
Ya know I ain’t lyin’
Then the kids’ll have kids
Love horses cows and birds
Hope they’ll remember
When I wrote you these words

That I wrote ya in a country love song
So simple and fine
To thank the Lord above
For that one chance to make you mine
And thank Him for your friendship
And all of your smiles agin and agin and agin
So there’s yer country love song
And that’s all so…amen

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

