13

All my parents’ expectant wishes for me
Have passed on
To my darling lovely
Who will turn 13 today
I mask my epic fail in poor rhymes
That fade with the summer grass
Over-embraced by a nonchalant sun
I want to go home, I can write
Sitting in my house, but I cannot
Home is gone for me
No storm stole it from
But Time has hidden it
In the gray hairs and faltering memory
That I’ve lied to myself I’m too young to have
The glass is half-full―sure
But that’s not my glass
My darling lovely
Will ascend 13 today
It is a very good day

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on June 10, 2012, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

