On Time

I’ve come too late
And stayed for too long
And ever I wonder
How do I go so wrong
This is not my place
To beg for a reason
While lost again in Austin
This long pitiless season
With heat to crack the calm
And toast everyone’s brow
No rains to offer succor
Only hallucinations of snow
Time to find a distraction
Like the junk piles along the wall
Time to simplify matters
I answer Ms. Kathy’s call
Decluttered is the house
And freed is now my mind
Loosed the tangled bonds
That knotted me up in kind
But finding there’s still no answer
Unfulfilled with just a rhyme
Maybe I will do better
If I ever get there on time

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

