Donate Does a Heart Good

Last time I gave was 9/11
Turn away numbers; not much fun
Nancy showed me to the little room
Computer questions, quiet as a tomb
Today the lobby was empty but three
Old man, young lady and lil ole me
Did the verbal and typing stick
Screener Patrick didn’t miss a lick
Then into the lab: Please come this way
My assigned vampire, future-skinny, Vianney
Today we used the veteran left arm
Everyone nicely was keeping me from harm
Then into the canteen for Oreos and juice
Putting my downtime at least to some good use
Back at home feeling heroic–hip. hip. hooray
Hey, maybe, you could DONATE BLOOD TODAY
inyourhands.org

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

