Toes’ Woes

I seemed to have lost a sock
And I really want to take a walk.
Its one of those new halvsies
That doesn’t cover your calvies
But it fits quite well on my feet.
Can’t find it. Gone. Pfweeet!
Somewhere from the hamper to the laundry-
How it disappeared is quite the quandary.
Now my schedule is tossed in the lurch
And I must continue with my job search;
But without cover for one’s toes, everyone knows,
Can only lead to some really bad foot woes.
Searched all over and around the clock.
How can I ever recover from this shock?
Now I can’t go outside to exercise
And my middle continues to grow in size.
Better find it or people will start to talk.
Blast it! Where is that stupid sock?
Well, would you take a look at that.
In the mouth of Jack, my daughter’s cat.
Back from his rounds about the block.
Don’t run! Jack! Gimme back my sock!

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on July 12, 2012, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Found the sock under a futon cushion…sigh!

Comments Adored

