Friend

No, there’s no one
No one at all
None I can think of
No, no one to call
Just me and my thoughts
And goals to apply
Resumes to email
With nothing in reply
I’m here by myself
With only the kid’s cat
It’s pretty one-sided
When we try to chat
He goes out at night
Where everybody knows his name
I let him back in at 3:30
Every morning it’s the same
Coffee at six-thirty
Oatmeal or wheat toast
No, there’s no one
Just “Friend” to go post

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on September 18, 2012, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Perfect description of a day in the life of a job seeker. Kinda sad. Kinda sweet.

Comments Adored

