Day of the Dads

Good Morning All, it’s AM at Ten O Two,
Standing here with tons of nothing much to do.
It’s a June Sunday, so Happy Father’s Day
As we wait for calls from kids far, far away.
Daughter is off doing her best at school
Earning A’s and B’s, following the Golden Rule.
Son is doing his duty in ole Afghanistan
Proving being a patriot takes being a real man.
Later I’ll mow the lawn, grass getting a mite tall.
Tonight I’ll watch Dr. Who who seems to know it all.
My universe is kinda crAZY, and somtimes kinda sad.
But I’m Happy, Healthy, Safe and Free. Later~ Love, Dad.

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on June 16, 2013, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Waldo Bizutti

    My favorite part are the last 2 lines. Sweet.

Comments Adored

