Food For Poorer Gods

When Salty Father Crackers
Met Sweet Mother Jam:
He flew to one knee
Asking, “Will you marry me, ma’am?”

Surprised at herself,
She said, “Oh my, why yes!”
The reason for her answer
Surely, you can guess.

Mixing jam and crackers
At first sounds rather strange
But, it’s a great combo;
One you should opt to arrange.

So, there goes Father Crackers
Along with Mother Jam.
When we see them next,
They’ll be pushing a peanut butter pram.

Peanut butter, jam and crackers: food of we poorer gods.
And, that’s just what I have in my refrigerator: what are the odds?

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on October 9, 2013, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Lilly Fedoroff

    Oh, that’s brilliant! So clever! 😜😏😱

    Sent from my iPhone

Comments Adored

