2014

The old ’13 gentleman put down his burden;
An old style oil lamp now burning low.
He told me he was in quest of the New Baby;
It was to be his turn to keep it aglow.
The older’s time was growing short
And twas poised to let fall a little tear.
Thus always it’s this way in early winter,
The period looming before the fresh year.
He mused:
A pauper has his pennies
Lined up all in a row
It’s going to be okay
Let’s see how it goes
The rain is wetting light
And the day is coming new
Nothing much is doing
Choices we’re left are few
The sun will yet peek out
Today it won’t freeze
Dare to go on outside
How Nature loves to tease.

He dreamed:
‘Just couldn’t do it:
1 couldn’t pull the trigger;
Just didn’t have the guts
To ask her to please please linger,
And to stay a little while
And maybe misbehave;
That it might be all right
If again I play the knave.’
He said:
“I’ve had my two glasses;
Now I can’t find the floor.
I’d love to do some versed lines,
But I don’t do that anymore.
And I’m still just a little man,
Never ever you fear.
But let me take some time
To send best regards for the upcoming year.”
And so:
The ’13 gentleman found the ‘14 babe
Handing over the lamp with good cheer.
Shuffling off to his old room, he allowed:
“I wish you better luck and a Happy New Year.”

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on December 31, 2013, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

