Two Fourteen

One day a golden yellow balloon came floating by
Told me to come on, go for it, you must give it a try
So I went to the tree top to see what was up and doin’
Not thinking it could just be another path to ruin
I saw many new things of lovely riches and wonder
But how could any of this be for me I had to ponder
But I went on, went for it, gave it a mighty try
Terrified because I lacked the answers to how or why
But then the balloon burst shoving me to the ground
And I lost that feeling I was wanted anywhere around
But I’m getting up, dusting off, as I’ve more things I must do
Like wishing a Happy Valentine’s Day to someone nice like you
So listen, if you must, to pretty balloons, if you dare
For me, they seem, to be mostly pretty full of hot air
Life has grand wonders but those reverses can be mighty tart
But you’re the best, Happy Valentine’s Day, you old sweetheart!

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on February 14, 2014, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

