Sigh

Thought it’d be easy breaking up with you:
Walk out of your door and out into the blue.
Maybe find some quality time alone;
Maybe marvel at how much I’d grown.
It’s pointless.
See you everywhere, morning to night.
Even though you’ve left, you’re not out of sight:
Can’t get you out of my mixed–up mind;
Why does Love and Life have to be so sharply unkind?
It’s pointless.
Missing those glances of deep emerald green.
Yours are the warmest smiles I’ve ever seen.
But, I burned that bridge so very well;
Now, living all alone in my own little shell.
It’s pointless.
Here’s comes Summer, and beaches by the mile:
Sand-centric toe wiggling surely to raise a smile.
But now who will catch my well-flung frisbee?
They’ll be no flip-flop wearing she hanging out with me.
It’s pointless.
Wishing her well, is all well and good,
But you ought left room for recovering your knighthood.
But stances were taken and some words can’t be unspoken;
How hard you may try, there’s no Superglue to render some loves unbroken.
It’s pointless.

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on May 11, 2014, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

