Walk

In the shadow of a cloud beneath the midday sun,
Sitting a while by a newly planted fence,
I lay full down my country walking burden
To shrug a shoulder to loosen the latest tense.

Because memories of the better than good times
Leave me wistful, sad, and spent;
But when you toe into those love crimes
Love has that habit of being up and went.

In the full sun after the shadow of a cloud moves on,
It’s time to keep on heading down the old tumbly road.
Alone and quiet to help keep your reminders gone,
A buzzard circles to mark where the last stage of life will unfold.

Thunder in the distance alerts to a promise of freshening rain;
It’ll be grand walking up to my door and to feel at home.
Trees dancing with breezes, and cat, welcome me back again;
So closing the door I resolve to not so far let my fool heart roam.

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on August 29, 2014, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

