Inshallah

Adeba Shaker
My 14 year old just turned 15.
My 14 year old learned the violin.
My 14 year old loved Hunger Games and Frozen and Dr. Who and all her teachers.
My 14 year old has a cell phone and on Wednesdays called in.
Adeba just might live to turn 15.
Adeba Shaker doesn’t know where the rest of her family is.
Adeba is a proud Muslim, a Yazidi.
Adeba used a cellphone to escape the horror of ISIS.
The Levant is so very far away,
But fear and pain can stay, to linger close.
I pray for these, our two brave teenagers—
And for a better World? Only God knows.

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on September 4, 2014, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments Adored

