Requiescat In Pace, Ann

Stuck with that tune floating around
Rattling inside an empty expecting mind
Hey what was that last Facebook post?
Please don’t treat yourself so unkind

At the well-attended service
The wannabe Dr. Irishman opined a rhyme
The sound-alikes Beatled their earnest best
Exactly replicated musical slurs oughta be a crime

Now then the slight warmer winter days
Trick us into a slighter dress
But the Sun cannot cut thru the haze
So shivering we watch Lidia dice the watercress

Butcha know February is coming
When you can wear the heavy of the cold air
And simmering frothy chocolate cocoa
Seems just about a trade most fair

And Ms. Ann has finally crossed over
And only two souls now remain
Never has this been a trivial pursuit
But I hate this is how my gold’s gain

This old keyboard offers up the fresh
Along with Merlot Glass in Grecian Chorus
Thanks, Ms. Nicks, talking up fleeting intoxicants
As rhymes waft about my synchronous torus

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on January 17, 2015, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

