They Yclept Me An Angel

They yclept me an angel!
Lo, my halo is tarnished and grey,
And my so-called wings are such shabby things,
But is there anything I can do or say?

Can I bring some sunshine to your tired eyes?
Is there somewhere you wish to go?
Is respite to be found in the how come’s and the why’s?
Is there something you’d like someone to know?

Pushing thru the big yon weeds
Of what needs be done
I try to do all that I can
To put hopelessness on the run

No prayer needed.
No prayer need be spake.
Just reveal what you need
And surely a chance I’ll take

They yclept me an angel!
Lo, my halo is tarnished and grey.
Just let me helpful
On this or any day.

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on December 31, 2015, in Poem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

