Never Be

Falling in love with the fantasy of what we’ll never be
With a slop of wine and so too much history
Our glasses clink china at different addresses
The longing still conjures images of imagined steamed places
Elfin eyes and the sly curl of your smile
And I’ll tarry but just a little while
But home to a ring and your precious child
Another false start must of course be filed
Repartee, sweet and practiced keen
Foolish old man, the gray hairs unseen
True love will demands it’s due
The loveless stumble lacking a clue
You can’t stop running water

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on February 16, 2016, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

