Heading To Sunset Ridge

Heading to Sunset Ridge
Can’t remember your name
Can’t remember much about me
Everyone goes what a shame

Taking the turn around Memory Lane
Or is it Lost Pine or somewhere else
But can you still see my nice smile?
That far ringing? Are those my bells?

But I will sit on this here bench
Don’t know this path anyways
You’re my son or daughter?
They said it was one of his better days

Playing my part in the Long Long Goodbye
Just succeeded through these 7 years
No thank you for your sweetly offered hankie
But these are needed welcome relieving tears

Heading over Sunset Ridge
Everyone go “What a shame.”
My name is Mr. Still Loving Parent
At least, I think that was his name

–In humble salute to the loved ones of my wonderful patients, PEOPLE with alzheimer’s

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on February 19, 2016, in Poem and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

