In The Mainstream

Got my love up ona stick
Ya’ll better come run quick
He falled down
Then he was dead
So there up ona stick
I put his oh soo lovely head

Off my meds
Off my time
Is dare womethingworong
That Im offa my head

Got my honey ona stick
Ya’ll beeter comerun quick
Wotcha pointing that gun at me
I thknk ima gonna be sick

Yeaqh im homeless
Least restrictiff workin for me
Wares the state loony bin
I think I needs\a bed, Doncha se

Got my love up ona stick
Ya’ll better come run quick
He falled down
Then he was dead
So there up ona stick
I put his oh soo lovely head

https://www.yahoo.com/news/woman-carrying-skull-stick-leads-130037239.html

Mainstreaming. THE policy that led to the release of most of the nation’s mentally ill patients from the hospital to the community is now widely regarded as a major failure. Sweeping critiques of the policy, notably the recent report of the American Psychiatric Association, have spread the blame everywhere, faulting politicians, civil libertarian lawyers and psychiatrists.

But who, specifically, played some of the more important roles in the formation of this ill-fated policy? What motivated these influential people and what lessons are to be learned?

A detailed picture has emerged from a series of interviews and a review of public records, research reports and institutional recommendations. The picture is one of cost-conscious policy makers, who were quick to buy optimistic projections that were, in some instances, buttressed by misinformation and by a willingness to suspend skepticism.

Many of the psychiatrists involved as practitioners and policy makers in the 1950’s and 1960’s said in the interviews that heavy responsibility lay on a sometimes neglected aspect of the problem: the overreliance on drugs to do the work of society.

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on October 21, 2016, in Poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

