Promise

Perhaps I shouldn’t promise to articulate
All those darker feelings
And why I never feel all that great;
Another promise lames out over
The another empty glass—
The red wasn’t that clever,
But
Another lost dog in Windsor Park West,
Doesn’t matter how hard or it’s
Enough that he tried his do his best;
Another firefly gives his/her all
Chasing away the falling sun;
Did you hear kittycat’s call?
Then
Senior prom and all the girls radiate
Fulfilling those brighter dreams;
It’s that we ought to perpetuate.
Another DNR marks the spot
And the on-call Angel of Death drives on and on
Wanna share? Let’s not.
And
Iron all the clean white shirts,
Sharper pleats reflect best;
Clear prose can reveal in spurts;
Yes, I need to take to bed,
Chasing the rising sun,
Whatever happened to Offred?
Anyway….

About Kitt

Sometimes a rhyme or couplet wanders across my consciousness. So, I share it. Other times I'm a hospice social worker; others, a Dad; others, southerner, New Orleanian, cajun enthusiast, voter, and on better days, a not-too-awful-poet/rhymster. Welcome to my page. Enjoy.

Posted on May 13, 2017, in Poem. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

